FGMEA General Membership Meeting Minutes Saturday, April 12, 2008

The FGMEA General Membership meeting was held on Saturday, April 12, 2008 at Hayfield Secondary School.

I. Call to Order

Joy Petty, President, called the meeting to order at 3:06 p.m.

II. President's Report: Joy Petty

Joy welcomed FGMEA members and thanked them for attending. She reminded members to pony ACCF Evaluation Forms to **Carla Okouchi** at Hayfield ES. Joy asked General Music teachers to sit together in the ACCF concert, as a way of showing our numbers, strength and unity to administrators and other audience members. Joy reminded members that CD order forms for ACCF must be turned in whether or not any CDs are being ordered.

Patrick Ware asked that members with duty at the Kiss & Ride for ACCF be excused from the remainder of the meeting and report to their posts.

Recognitions: Joy announced that three FGMEA members plan to retire at the end of the 2007-2008 academic year. Karen Dosch began teaching in FCPS in January of 1977, has taught at 11 different schools, and has been at Sangster ES for 20 years; Karen will be retiring this year. Trish Fraker of Dranesville ES and Cindy Whalen of White Oaks ES will also be retiring this year.

Joy recognized and thanked Diane Stevens, Lesley Lindell, Connie Higgins, Rachel Grimsby, Charlie Ring, Yovanda Miles, Marian Shulz and Jarene Jones for setting up and maintaining the Hospitality Room at ACCF.

Joy recognized and thanked ACCF 2008 Co-chairs **Carla Okouchi** and **Cynthia Carlton** for their efforts in making the festival run smoothly.

Vacant Board Positions: There are open positions on the Social Committee and Grant Committee, committees of the FGMEA Executive Board. These positions are appointed by the FGMEA President. Joy asked interested members to please contact her via email.

Wendy Peterson will not be returning as FGMEA Vice-President during the 2008-2009 academic year. Joy thanked Wendy for her work this year.

III. Election of Officers and Cluster Chairs: Charlie Ring

Charlie, as head of the nominating committee, announced the following slate of officers

for the 2008-2009 school year:

President: Joy Petty

Vice-President: Carla Okouchi Secretary: Rob Stansbery Treasurer: Debbie Key

Chair, Cluster 1, 2: Carolyn Dorey Chair, Cluster 3, 4: Angie Collins Chair, Cluster 5, 6: Cindy Noble Chair, Cluster 7, 8: Rachel Grimsby.

Charlie asked for additional nominations from the floor, per FGMEA by-laws. **Kathleen Rich** (Camelot ES) nominated **Sean Cator** (Louise Archer ES and Clearview ES) for Cluster 1, 2 Chair. Charlie asked members to add Sean's name to their ballots.

IV. Vice-President's Report: Wendy Peterson

There have not been any nominations for the \$500 FGMEA Scholarship. This money has been presented to FGMEA by a retired General Music teacher who wishes to help students continue their music education but who may not have the financial means to do so. The application process is very simple. The nomination forms were distributed in the Winter Newsletter, attached to the minutes of the March 11 Board Meeting. Wendy will post the scholarship information on the General Music Conference.

Lucinda Sexton added that one of her students received the scholarship last year, and used the money to attend James Madison University's summer music camp. She highly recommended the camp and the scholarship.

The nomination deadline has been extended until May 9. All FGMEA members are asked to consider nominating one of their students for the scholarship.

V. Fall In-service: Rachel Grimsby

Orff-Schulwerk specialist, clinician, and American Orff-Schulwerk Association Past President Konnie Saliba will be presenting at the August In-service. Rachel asked members to submit suggestions of topics on which they would like Saliba to present. Please e-mail suggestions to Rachel.

VI. Treasurer's Report: Debbie Key

Debbie distributed "FGMEA Treasurer's Report: May 4, 2007 – April 11, 2008" to the members. The bank account reconciles as it should. The balance forwarded from the May 4, 2007 report was \$13,327.22. Income totaling \$19,437.00, and expenses totaling \$18,578.92 resulted in an ending balance on April 11, 2008 of \$14,185.30.

VII. Fine Arts Office Report: Jeanette Essig

Jeanette thanked members for their time and efforts in making ACCF 2008 a success.

Plans for ACCF 2009 are in process. The FAO is hoping to secure Fairfax High School as the site for ACCF 2009, but this has not yet been finalized.

Jeanette asked those who are able to please stay after the concert and help with clean-up.

VIII. Election Results: Charlie Ring

Charlie announced the following were elected as FGMEA officers for the 2008-2009 academic year: President: **Joy Petty**; Vice-President: **Carla Okouchi**; Secretary: **Rob Stansbery**; Treasurer: **Debbie Key**; Chair, Cluster 1, 2: **Carolyn Dorey**; Chair, Cluster 3, 4: **Angie Collins**; Chair, Cluster 5, 6: **Cindy Noble**; Chair, Cluster 7, 8: **Rachel Grimsby**.

IX. Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Rob Stansbery FGMEA Secretary